Lessons in Baking: Fold Your Muffins!! {Baking Endeavors}

What better way to celebrate the start of fall then with something that seems to combine all the quintessential fall flavors:

Pumpkin, Apple, and Cinnamon.

And why not make them slightly healthy while you’re at it?

I don’t pretend to be a good baker, I’m still learning the basics and the first try isn’t always a successful one. In fact, I often look like this after baking…. BUT, the point is, I’m learning 🙂

Lesson of the month: Fold your muffins, Dangit!!!I just couldn’t pinpoint what it was that needed improvement when I first made these, but my friend Anna came to the rescue. Fluffiness is the key to excellent muffins. Instead of fully mixing all the ingredients together, you perform a careful folding action with your spatula, this makes the muffins have that light, airy, fluffy texture. This part…I forgot.

So don’t forget to fold, and check out this recipe adapted from Moosewood and Kat in the Kitch. If you want to make them extra healthy, use whole wheat flour and see the link below for suggestions!

I took the basic recipe below and substituted/added the following:

  • Fresh Apples (use whatever apples you like best for baking)
  • Soy Milk instead of Regular Milk
  • Egg Beaters instead of real eggs (recommended 1/3 cup for 1 egg)
  • Added extra cinnamon, nutmeg, and a dash of pumpkin spice
  • Used 1/2 cup sugar and a splash of agave

Adapted from Kat in the Kitch and Moosewood Restaurant New Classics

Tips for baking with whole wheat flour

2 thoughts on “Lessons in Baking: Fold Your Muffins!! {Baking Endeavors}

  1. holly deliciousness batman, those look scrumptious! I’m a bit of a muffin slut. I think they may be the single best breakfast invention of all time! ps. James VanDerSchnozz’s face made my afternoon!

    • i heart muffins too. i’m headed home this weekend and i told my mom we have to go to my favorite muffin place. they have gingerbread muffins with cream cheese filling…they are ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

